Why I don’t open entries a year in advance

Posted on Updated on

Runners have asked me why I don’t open Forest Run entries a year in advance, like some other events. A few reasons…

Aside from needing a good break after presenting an event, I prefer to focus on event planning in blocks so that the admin and my focus is contained. Also, if you’re anything like me, you probably use January to look around and see what events are on in the next six months. If I’d opened Forest Run entries already last year and the places were all snapped up, I’m sure you’d be disappointed not to even have had a chance to consider it.

Forest Run is a small participant-number event so I prefer to give you time to decide that you’re in for the 30km or 46km route (yes! yes! yes!) and me time to recharge my batteries for intensive event focus.

I’ll be opening entries soon.

I am again thankful to the many landowners from Bundu, Birdsong, Thabela Thabeng, Bergkruin, Buffelskloof and Venterskroon for opening their gates to us and to Leon from Venterskroon Inn, our start/finish venue, for his support and enthusiasm. I look forward to being out there more over the coming months.

Yesterday morning, before the crack of dawn, I was out with my friend Karen on a property on the Sasolburg side of Parys. She is involved with the route planning for Rotary/Epilepsy’s annual event (18 Feb). The Dell is a magnificent property. From the high point, I had an elevated view of the hills through which Forest Run passes. If its vegetation is anything to go by, we will have a lot of grass to cut on Forest Run trails come May. The rains have been wonderfully plentiful.

